Andrew Vachss Books In Order | Update 03/2024

Andrew Vachss is an American author known for his hardboiled crime fiction. He has written 23 novels, many of which deal with subjects such as child abuse, exploitation, and violence. His work often incorporates his background as a lawyer and child protection consultant, addressing the darker side of human nature and societal issues.

Andrew Vachss Books in Order

  1. Flood (Burke, #1)
  2. Strega (Burke, #2)
  3. Blue Belle (Burke, #3)
  4. Hard Candy (Burke, #4)
  5. Shella
  6. Blossom (Burke, #5)
  7. Down in the Zero (Burke, #7)
  8. Sacrifice (Burke, #6)
  9. Safe House (Burke, #10)
  10. Dead and Gone (Burke, #12)

Summary of Andrew Vachss Books in Order

Flood (Burke, #1)

“Flood (Burke, #1)” by Andrew Vachss is a gritty and intense crime novel that follows the story of Burke, a hard-nosed private investigator who operates on the fringes of society. The novel is set in the seedy underbelly of New York City, where Burke navigates a world of violence, corruption, and betrayal. When a young girl goes missing, Burke is hired to find her, but he soon uncovers a web of depravity and crime that goes deeper than he could have imagined.

As Burke delves deeper into the case, he must confront his own demons and navigate the treacherous world of child exploitation and human trafficking. The novel is a dark and fast-paced thriller that examines the darkest aspects of human nature while also highlighting the resilience of the human spirit. “Flood” is the first book in the Burke series, and it sets the stage for the rest of the series, introducing readers to the complex and morally ambiguous character of Burke and the dark and dangerous world he inhabits.

Vachss’ writing is raw and unflinching, and he doesn’t shy away from depicting the harsh realities of the world his characters inhabit. The novel is a gripping and intense read, filled with compelling characters and a plot that will keep readers on the edge of their seats. With its unapologetic portrayal of violence and crime, “Flood” is a hard-hitting and thought-provoking novel that will leave a lasting impression on readers.

Strega (Burke, #2)

The content is being updated …

Blue Belle (Burke, #3)

The content is being updated …

Hard Candy (Burke, #4)

The content is being updated …


The content is being updated …

Blossom (Burke, #5)

The content is being updated …

Down in the Zero (Burke, #7)

The content is being updated …

Sacrifice (Burke, #6)

“Sacrifice (Burke, #6)” by Andrew Vachss is the sixth installment in the Burke series, which follows the adventures of an underground vigilante and his band of misfit allies. In this book, Burke is contacted by a woman who claims her daughter has been kidnapped and is being forced into a snuff film. As Burke investigates, he discovers a ring of pedophiles and pornographers who will stop at nothing to protect their lucrative business. With the help of his network of criminals and outcasts, Burke wages a relentless war against the perpetrators, stepping into the darkest corners of the criminal underworld to rescue the victim and deliver justice.

See also  Barbara Mertz Books In Order | Update 03/2024

Vachss expertly weaves a gritty and fast-paced thriller, offering a tense and unflinching look at the darkest aspects of human depravity. The story delves into complex themes of abuse, exploitation, and survival, and the characters are richly developed and morally ambiguous, adding depth and complexity to the narrative. The book showcases Vachss’ trademark hardboiled style, blending social commentary with heart-pounding action and suspense, making it a compelling read for fans of crime fiction.

“Sacrifice (Burke, #6)” is a gripping and intense novel that explores the depths of human cruelty and the redeeming power of justice. It is a must-read for fans of the Burke series and anyone who enjoys dark and uncompromising crime fiction.

Safe House (Burke, #10)

The content is being updated …

Dead and Gone (Burke, #12)

In Dead and Gone, the twelfth installment of the Burke series by Andrew Vachss, the protagonist, Burke, finds himself embroiled in a battle against a powerful and dangerous enemy. As a career criminal and survivalist, Burke must use all of his expertise to navigate the treacherous terrain of the criminal underworld. The story unfolds as Burke navigates the seedy underbelly of New York City, encountering a variety of nefarious characters and navigating dangerous situations in his quest for justice.

The novel delves into the dark and gritty world of organized crime, human trafficking, and corruption, as Burke uncovers a sinister plot with far-reaching implications. With his trademark blend of street-smart intelligence and ruthless determination, Burke fights to expose the truth and bring the perpetrators to justice. The novel also explores deeper themes of trauma, resilience, and the moral complexities of survival in a world rife with violence and exploitation.

As the stakes continue to rise, Burke must confront his own demons and make difficult choices in order to survive and protect those he cares about. The novel offers a thrilling and intense look at the criminal underworld, as well as a compelling portrait of a complex and morally ambiguous protagonist.

Who is Andrew Vachss

Andrew Vachss is a multi-talented individual who has had a diverse and impactful career. From federal investigator in sexually transmitted diseases, to social-services caseworker, labor organizer, and director of a maximum-security prison for “aggressive-violent” youth, Vachss has dedicated his life to advocating for and representing children and youths. He is also a prolific author, with numerous novels, short story collections, and a variety of other works to his name. His writing has been translated into twenty languages and has been featured in notable publications such as Parade, Esquire, and the New York Times. A native New Yorker, Vachss now divides his time between his birth city and the Pacific Northwest. His work and more information about him can be found on his dedicated website

Author Andrew Vachss

Frequently Asked Questions about author Andrew Vachss

Andrew Vachss books adaptations to the film

The content is being updated …

What types of books does Andrew Vachss write

Andrew Vachss writes crime fiction and suspense thrillers, often focusing on themes of child abuse, exploitation, and corruption. He is best known for his series of novels featuring the character Burke, a hardened ex-con and private investigator.

How many books has Andrew Vachss written

Andrew Vachss has written 21 books.

What was the first book written by Andrew Vachss

The content is being updated …

Published at 10:27 - 08/02/2024
Relate To