Barbara Wood Books In Order | Update 02/2024

Barbara Wood is an American author known for her captivating and richly detailed novels that often revolve around themes of history, romance, and adventure. With over 30 books to her name, she has gained a dedicated following of readers who appreciate her skillful storytelling and ability to transport them to different times and places.

Barbara Wood Books in Order

  1. Virgins of Paradise
  2. Green City in the Sun
  3. The Blessing Stone
  4. The Dreaming: A Novel of Australia
  5. Domina (Biblioteca)
  6. The Prophetess
  7. Sacred Ground
  8. Soul Flame
  9. Woman of a Thousand Secrets
  10. Daughter of the Sun: A Novel of The Toltec Empire

Summary of Barbara Wood Books in Order

Virgins of Paradise

The content is being updated …

Green City in the Sun

“The content is being updated …”

The Blessing Stone

The content is being updated …

The Dreaming: A Novel of Australia

“The Dreaming: A Novel of Australia” by Barbara Wood follows the journey of Kate Cambridge, a successful lawyer from Los Angeles, as she returns to her childhood home in Australia. Kate’s trip is prompted by her father’s dying wish for her to re-connect with her Aboriginal roots, which leads her to the remote Outback. As Kate immerses herself in the rugged landscape and ancient traditions of the Aboriginal people, she uncovers shocking family secrets and discovers a connection to the land that she never knew existed.

As Kate delves deeper into her family’s history, she encounters hostility from some members of the Aboriginal community, who are suspicious of her motives and skeptical of her claim to their heritage. Through her encounters and experiences, Kate gains a new understanding of the culture and struggles of the Aboriginal people, and she also finds a sense of purpose and belonging that she had been lacking in her life.

The novel weaves together themes of identity, heritage, and the clash of modern and traditional cultures, offering a compelling exploration of Australia’s rich and complex history. “The Dreaming” is a powerful and immersive story that takes readers on a captivating journey through the Australian Outback, as well as through the depths of the human spirit.

Domina (Biblioteca)

The content is being updated …

The Prophetess

“The Prophetess” by Barbara Wood is a historical fiction novel set in ancient Egypt and follows the life of a woman named Nefertari. Nefertari is a slave girl with a special gift – she can foresee the future. As she grows older, she becomes a prophetess and gains the attention of the pharaoh, Ramesses the Great. Nefertari’s powers bring her both praise and danger as she navigates the complicated politics of the Egyptian court and tries to use her abilities for the betterment of her people.

The novel explores themes of power, destiny, love, and the struggle to maintain one’s identity in the face of adversity. Nefertari’s journey is a captivating tale of strength and determination as she fights to fulfill her prophetic visions and protect those she cares about. The story is rich in historical detail and immerses the reader in the vibrant world of ancient Egypt, bringing to life the customs, traditions, and beliefs of the time.

Barbara Wood’s “The Prophetess” is a compelling and immersive read that combines elements of romance, adventure, and mysticism. Through Nefertari’s story, the reader gains insight into the complexities of life in ancient Egypt and is taken on a captivating journey filled with intrigue and suspense.

The content is being updated …

Sacred Ground

“Sacred Ground” by Barbara Wood is a compelling historical novel set in 19th century California. The story revolves around a young woman named Emma who, after a devastating family tragedy, seeks solace and purpose in the wilderness. She joins a group of Native Americans, the Chumash tribe, and becomes deeply involved in their culture and way of life. Through her experiences, Emma gains a deeper understanding of herself and the world around her, ultimately finding healing and redemption.

See also  Ann Petry Books In Order | Update 02/2024

The novel is rich in detail and vividly depicts the rugged beauty of California’s landscape as well as the complexities of the Chumash tribe’s traditions and customs. Alongside Emma’s personal journey, the novel also explores the tensions between the Native Americans and the encroaching settlers, shedding light on the injustices and conflicts of the time. Wood’s prose is both evocative and insightful, drawing readers into Emma’s world and allowing them to witness her growth and maturation as she navigates the challenges and triumphs of her new life.

“Sacred Ground” is a powerful and emotionally resonant story that seamlessly blends history, culture, and personal transformation. Wood’s masterful storytelling and meticulous research make for a captivating and immersive read that will stay with readers long after they finish the last page.

Soul Flame

The content is being updated …

Woman of a Thousand Secrets

The content is being updated …

Daughter of the Sun: A Novel of The Toltec Empire

The content is being updated …

Who is Barbara Wood

Barbara Wood was born in Warrington, Lancashire, England, UK on January 30, 1947. She immigrated to the United States with her parents and older brother and grew up in Southern California, attending Los Angeles schools. After High School, she briefly attended the University of California at Santa Barbara before leaving to train as a surgical technician. During this time, she held numerous jobs before selling her first novel in 1976. A few years prior, she met her husband George. To date, she has written 22 books, including two under the pen name Kathryn Harvey, which are quite different from her other novels. She is an international best selling author with books translated into over 30 languages. The reader is transported to exotic countries that Barbara has meticulously researched to provide her fans with a true sense of the culture and history relevant to each story. At the heart of every book is a strong, independent woman. Currently, Barbara is busy working on her next story that will, no doubt, showcase an extraordinary heroine in an exciting and intriguing adventure. When not writing, she often takes time to enjoy the work of other authors and that of a certain well-known martial artist, whose name is listed among the “Ten things you might not know about Barbara.

Author Barbara Wood

FAQs about author Barbara Wood

Barbara Wood novels conversions to the film

Barbara Wood has written several books that have been adapted to screen, including “The Dreaming” and “Virgins of Paradise.” These novels have been turned into successful TV movies, bringing Wood’s stories to life for a wider audience.

“The Dreaming” was adapted into a TV movie in 1988, directed by Mario Andreacchio and starring Arthur Dignam and Penny Cook. The film tells the story of an archaeologist who uncovers an ancient Aboriginal burial ground and is haunted by the spirits of the past.

“Virgins of Paradise” was adapted into a TV movie in 2003, directed by Gabriele Salvatores and starring Olivia Hussey and Anne Archer. The film follows the lives of two sisters in 19th-century Egypt as they struggle with love, betrayal, and the changing social dynamics of their time.

These adaptations have allowed Barbara Wood’s captivating stories to reach a wider audience and have brought her novels to life in new and exciting ways.

What types of books does Barbara Wood write

Barbara Wood writes historical fiction, romance, and adventure novels.

How many books has Barbara Wood written

The content is being updated …

What was the first book written by Barbara Wood

The first book written by Barbara Wood is called “Curse this House” which was published in 1978.

Published at 10:40 - 23/01/2024
Relate To